Pulitzer Prize Classics

Fraklin Library Pulitzer Prize Classics

The Franklin Library leather bound book series: Pulitzer Prize Classics consists of 53 volumes published from 1975 to 1980. All books in the Pulitzer Prize Classics series were bound in genuine leather with 22k gold accents, gilt page edges, and sewn-in bookmarks.

The Franklin Library Pulitzer Prize series targeted each year of the Pulitzer Prize from its start in 1917 (and they had no prize for novel that year) through 1979. It’s worth noting that several years do not have a book associated with them — this is only because there was no Pulitzer Prize for a novel in those years. Every Pultizer Prize for Novel from 1917 – 1979 are represented in this Franklin Library collection.

Sadly, the Franklin Library closed in 2000, all titles in the Pulitzer Prize Classics series are out of print and only available from secondary aftermarket sources, primarily collectible booksellers, which can be found through Amazon.

List of Franklin Library Pulitzer Prize Classics Leather Bound Book Series


  • 1918 His Family by Ernest Poole
  • 1919 The Magnificent Ambersons by Booth Tarkingon
  • 1921 The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
  • 1922 Alice Adams by Booth Tarkington
  • 1923 One of Ours by Willa Cather
  • 1924 The Able McLaughlins Margaret Wilson
  • 1925 So Big by Edna Ferber
  • 1926 Arrowsmith by Sinclair Lewis
  • 1927 Early Autumn by Louis Bromfield
  • 1928 The Bridge of San Luis Rey by Thornton Wilder
  • 1929 Scarlet Sister Mary by Julia Peterkin
  • 1930 Laughing Boy by Oliver La Farge
  • 1931 Years of Grace by Margaret Ayer Barnes
  • 1932 The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck
  • 1933 The Store by T.S. Stribling
  • 1934 Lamb in His Bosom by Caroline Miller
  • 1935 Now in November by Josephine Johnson
  • 1936 Honey in the Horn by Harold L. Davis
  • 1937 Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  • 1938 The Late George Apley by John Marquand
  • 1939 The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings
  • 1940 The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
  • 1942 In This Our Life by Ellen Glasgow
  • 1943 Dragon’s Teeth by Upton Sinclair
  • 1944 Journey in the Dark by Martin Flavin
  • 1945 A Bell for Adano by John Hersey
  • 1947 All the King’s Men by Robert Penn Warren
  • 1948 Tales of the South Pacific by James A. Michener
  • 1949 Guard of Honor by James Gould Cozzens
  • 1950 The Way West by A.B. Guthrie, Jr.
  • 1951 The Town by Conrad Richter
  • 1952 The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk
  • 1953 The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway
  • 1955 A Fable by William Faulkner
  • 1956 Andersonville by Mackinlay Kantor
  • 1958 A Death in the Family by James Agee
  • 1959 The Travels of Jaime Mcpheeters by Robert Lewis Taylor
  • 1960 Advise and Consent by Allen Drury
  • 1961 To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  • 1962 The Edge of Sadness by Edwin O’Connor
  • 1963 The Reivers by William Faulkner
  • 1965 The Keepers of the House by Shirley Ann Grau
  • 1966 Collected Stories by Katherine Ann Porter
  • 1967 The Fixer by Bernard Malamud
  • 1968 The Confessions of Nat Turner by William Styron
  • 1969 House Made of Dawn by N. Scott Momaday
  • 1970 Collected Stories by Jean Stafford
  • 1972 Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner
  • 1973 The Optimists Daughter by Eudora Welty
  • 1975 The Killer Angels by Michael Sharra
  • 1976 Humboldt’s Gift by Saul Bellow
  • 1978 Elbow Room by James Alan Mcpherson
  • 1979 The Stories of John Cheever by John Cheever


Facebook Twitter Email
Find Leather Bound Books