60 Signed Limited Editions

Franklin Library 60 Signed Limited Editions

The Franklin Library leather bound book collection: 60 Signed Limited Editions includes, as you would imagine, 60 volumes of genuine leather bound books published between 1977 and 1982. All titles in the 60 Signed Limited Editions series were bound in genuine leather, with gilt page edges, 22k gold accents, and sewn-in bookmarks.

Widely considered to be one of the most spectacular and valuable of the Franklin Library collections, the 60 Signed Limited Editions collection are all signed by the author as limited editions. It’s worth noting that these are not considered “first editions,” which in the Franklin Library is a specific term for a different series of books. However, in practice all of the 60 Signed Limited Editions are first editions since by the nature of a limited edition they were printed just once.

As Franklin Library closed in 2000, all titles in the 60 Signed Limited Editions  series are out of print and only available from secondary aftermarket sources, primarily collectible booksellers and direct sales such as ebay. Of all the Franklin Library leather bound books, this series is likely to be the most costly, even through ebay.

List of Franklin Library 60 Signed Limited Editions Leather Bound Book Series


  • The Rector of Justin by Louis Auchincloss
  • A God Against the Gods by Allen Drury
  • Justine by Lawrence Durrell
  • The Second Sex by Simone De Beauvoir
  • Gimpel, The Fool and Other Stories by Isaac Beshevis Singer
  • God’s Little Acre by Erskine Caldwell
  • Go Tell It on the Mountain by James Baldwin
  • The Sot-Weed Factor by John Barth
  • Other Voices, Other Rooms by Truman Capote
  • The Coming Fury by Bruce Catton
  • The Ginger Man by J.P. Donleavy
  • Advise and Consent by Allen Drury
  • A Stillness at Appomattox by Bruce Catton
  • The Wapshot Chronicle by John Cheever
  • Deliverance by James Dickey
  • A Book of Common Prayer by Joan Didion
  • Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison
  • Young Lonigan by James T. Farrell
  • The Collector by John Fowles
  • The French Lieutenant’s Woman by John Fowles
  • Mary Queen Of Scotts by Antonia Fraser
  • The Affluent Society by John Kenneth Galbraith
  • The Last Angry Man by Gerald Green
  • Good As Gold by Joseph Heller
  • A Bell for Adano by John Hersey
  • The Wall by John Hersey
  • Darkness at Noon by Arthur Koestler
  • Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
  • Cry, the Beloved Country by Alan Patton
  • Lust for Life by Irving Stone
  • The Confessions of Nat Turner by William Styron
  • Lie Down in Darkness by William Styron
  • The Moviegoer by Walker Percy
  • Goodbye, Columbus by Philip Roth
  • Eleanor and Franklin by Joseph P. Lash
  • The Naked and the Dead by Norman Mailer
  • Collected Plays of Arthur Miller
  • Birds of America by Mary McCarthy
  • The Group by Mary McCarthy
  • Them by Joyce Carol Oates
  • Five Plays by Jean-Paul Sartre
  • A Thousand Days by Arthur M. Schlesinger
  • The Young Lions by Irwin Shaw
  • The Affair by C.P. Snow
  • The Big Rock Candy Mountain by Wallace Stegner
  • Marjorie Morningstar by Herman Wouk
  • The Agony and the Ecstasy by Irving Stone
  • Rabbit Redux by John Updike
  • Rabbit, Run by John Updike
  • All the King’s Men by Robert Penn Warren
  • Selected Poems (1923–1975) of Robert Penn Warren
  • Exodus by Leon Uris
  • Burr by Gore Vidal
  • Julian by Gore Vidal
  • Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut
  • The Optimist’s Daughter by Eudora Welty
  • The Shoes of the Fisherman by Morris West
  • In Search of History by Theodore H. White
  • Selected Plays of Tennessee Williams
  • The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk


    Facebook Twitter Email